Underwater kingdom - pond

It has long been known what a magical effect water has on humans. And what a richest world is hidden under the mysterious mirror surface!

Lake in the yard, decor element

To prevent clogging of the pond with decay products, it is useful to settle water snails in it, eating the remains of food and lower algae. Horn-shaped coils (Planorbis vortex and Coretus corneus) are most beneficial. The common pond snail (Limnaea stagnalis) is also interesting. But it grows quickly, is very voracious and, unlike the coil, does not disdain fish caviar and fish fry. In addition, the pond snail can damage the leaves of the water lilies.

"Dancing" on the water for a home lake

Black shiny beetles (family Gyrinidae) rush along the surface of the water, winding swift bends. At the first sign of danger, they scatter and dive under the water, but soon gather again to continue their "dance". The twirls have an interesting feature - their eyes are divided by a transverse gap into two parts, so they can simultaneously see both what is under water and what is in the air. Water striders (family Gerridae) glide easily on the mirror surface, barely touching the water surface with their feet.

Sand house builder

In shallow water, every grain of sand, every pebble is visible! Here is a creature moving awkwardly along the bottom. It's a caddis flies (Stenophylax stellatus)! He built his house from grains of sand, twigs, grass - everything went into action. He fastened everything with the secret of the salivary gland, weighed it down with pebbles so that the house would not float up - and now the "housing" is ready!

Long-legged handsome men

There are also water bugs (family Notonectidae) and rowers (family Corixidae). They have long legs, like oars, with a fringed blade at the end. Under the pressure of water, the blades open like a fan, providing a powerful stroke, and in the opposite motion, they fold neatly. At night, smoothies fly, mastering new reservoirs.

Swimmers

Here is an underwater predator, the larva of the bordered swimming beetle (Dytiscus marginalis), sneaking around looking for prey. This is one of the most terrible predators in the waters near Moscow. Having watched the prey, usually a tadpole or a small fish, the larva pounces on it and bites with its terrible jaws, and then drags it along everywhere, slowly digesting it. The swimmer is a large beetle (25–35 mm long); the back is black with a greenish tint, bright yellow stripes border the elytra, powerful hind legs serve it for rowing, with the front legs it holds prey.

Predators in "masks"

Larvae of large dragonflies are also serious predators. They are very distinctive. First, attention is drawn to the structure of the lower lip of the larva, which is a kind of "mask". While hunting, the larva, as it were, “throws” this “mask” forward in order to capture its prey.

Another feature is the way of transportation. Larvae of large dragonflies breathe by “inhaling” and “exhaling” water through the anus. Sharply pushing out water, the larva moves according to the principle of a jet engine.

Having reached a certain age, the larva climbs up the stem of the aquatic plant and rises out of the water. Having dried out, its outer shell cracks along the back, and an adult dragonfly gets out of it.

Frog frogs night songbirds for the lake

Of course, what a pond would do without frogs! In our strip, grass frogs (Rana temporaria) and lake frogs (Rana ridibunda) are found. Both are predominantly brown. Grass frogs live near the reservoir. They are in the water in the spring, during the breeding season, and with the onset of cold weather they sink to the bottom of the pond and winter like that. Unlike other species of frogs, they are less "vociferous", do not croak during breeding, but emit a quiet "grunt". In addition, sharp-faced frogs (Rana terrestris) can be “populated” into the pond, the males of which acquire a rich silvery-blue color during the mating season.

The gray toad is an unusual inhabitant of the home lake

Home pond toad

Gray toad (Bufo bufo) can be recognized by its warty brown-black back, white-gray belly, and broad head with shiny brick-red eyes. She is a welcome companion in any garden, as it destroys slugs, snails and other pests.

Add a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

9 + 1 =

Подводное царство — пруд

Давно известно, какое волшебное воздействие оказывает на человека вода. А какой богатейший мир скрывается под таинственной зеркальной гладью!

Озеро во дворе, элемент декора

Для предотвращения засорения пруда продуктами распада полезно поселить в нем водяных улиток, поедающих остатки корма и низшие водоросли. Наибольшую пользу приносят роговидные катушки (Planorbis vortex и Coretus corneus). Интересен также и прудовик обыкновенный (Limnaea stagnalis). Но он быстро растет, очень прожорлив и, в отличие от катушки, «не брезгует» рыбьей икрой и мальками рыб. Кроме того, прудовик может повредить листья кувшинок.

«Танцующие» на воде для домашнего озера

По поверхности воды носятся, накручивая стремительные виражи, черные блестящие жуки-вертячки (семейство Gyrinidae). При первых признаках опасности они бросаются врассыпную и ныряют под воду, но вскоре снова собираются, чтобы продолжить свой «танец». У вертячек есть интересная особенность – их глаза разделены поперечным промежутком на две части, поэтому они могут одновременно видеть и то, что находится под водой, и то, что в воздухе. Легко скользят по зеркальной глади клопы-водомерки (семейство Gerridae), едва касаясь ногами поверхности воды.

Строитель дома из песка

На мелководье видна каждая песчинка, каждый камешек! Вот неуклюже движется по дну какое-то существо. Да это ведь ручейник (Stenophylax stellatus)! Он построил свой домик из песчинок, веточек, травинок – все пошло в дело. Скрепил все секретом слюнной железы, утяжелил камешками, чтобы домик не всплывал, – и вот «жилье» готово!

Длинноногие красавцы

Встречаются здесь и водяные клопы-гладыши (семейство Notonectidae) и гребляки (семейство Corixidae). У них длинные ноги, похожие на весла, с бахромчатой лопастью на конце. Под давлением воды лопасти раскрываются, как веер, обеспечивая мощный гребок, а при обратном движении аккуратно складываются. По ночам гладыши летают, осваивая новые водоемы.

Плавунцы

Вот крадется, высматривая добычу, подводная хищница, личинка жука-плавунца окаймленного (Dytiscus marginalis). Это один из самых страшных хищников в подмосковных водоемах. Подкараулив жертву, обычно головастика или маленькую рыбку, личинка набрасывается на нее и впивается своими страшными челюстями, а потом таскает за собой повсюду, медленно ее переваривая. Плавунец – крупный жук (длиной 25–35 мм); спинка черного цвета с зеленоватым отливом, ярко-желтые полосы окаймляют надкрылья, мощные задние ноги служат ему для гребли, передними он удерживает добычу.

Хищники в «масках»

Серьезными хищницами являются и личинки крупных стрекоз. Они очень своеобразны. Во-первых, обращает внимание строение нижней губы личинки, которая представляет собой своеобразную «маску». Охотясь, личинка как бы «выбрасывает» эту «маску» вперед, чтобы захватить свою добычу.

Другая особенность – способ передвижения. Личинки крупных стрекоз осуществляют дыхание путем «вдохов» и «выдохов» воды через анальное отверстие. Резко выталкивая воду, личинка движется по принципу реактивного двигателя.

Достигнув определенного возраста, личинка взбирается вверх по стеблю водного растения и поднимается из воды. Обсохнув, ее наружная оболочка растрескивается по спине, и из нее выбирается уже взрослая стрекоза.

Лягушки-квакушки ночные певуньи для озера

Конечно же, какой пруд обойдется без лягушек! В нашей полосе водятся травяные лягушки (Rana temporaria) и озерные (Rana ridibunda). И те и другие – преимущественно бурого цвета. Травяные лягушки живут вблизи водоема. В воде они находятся весной, в период размножения, а с наступлением холодов опускаются на дно пруда и так зимуют. В отличие от других видов лягушек, они менее «голосистые», во время размножения не квакают, а издают негромкое «ворчание». Кроме того, в пруд можно «заселить» остромордых лягушек (Rana terrestris), самцы которых во время брачного периода приобретают насыщенный серебристо-синий цвет.

Серая жаба - необычная жительница домашнего озера

Жаба для домашнего пруда

Серую жабу (Bufo bufo) можно узнать по покрытой бородавками коричнево-черной спине, бело-серому брюху и широкой голове с блестящими кирпично-красными глазами. Она – желанный помощник в любом саду, поскольку уничтожает слизней, улиток и других вредителей.

Поделись с друзьями
Email this to someone
email
Share on Facebook
Facebook
Pin on Pinterest
Pinterest
Tweet about this on Twitter
Twitter
Share on LinkedIn
Linkedin
Share on VK
VK
Share on Whatsapp
Whatsapp

Добавить комментарий

Ваш адрес email не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *

8 + 1 =