Are squid caught on purpose or is it a by-product of fishing?

Are squid caught on purpose or is it a by-product of fishing?

  • Are squid caught on purpose or is it a by-product of fishing?

    Squids are molluscs. When cooked, they are an excellent dietary product -

    it is a protein rich in phosphorus, vitamins and amino acids.

    Squid has been used in cooking for centuries. Everything is edible in it, except for the eyes and beak, even the ink is used to make seasonings. Squids are especially popular among residents of Italy, Japan and Korea.

    In Russia, squid has become popular since Soviet times. Then our country was the world leader in the extraction and processing of squid. I remember at that time meat was not always possible to buy, and fish and squid were always on the shelves of shops and markets, both frozen and in the form of canned food.

    For example, in 1985, our fishermen in the fishing area near the Kuril Islands and in the western part of the Bering Sea caught about 60 thousand tons of Commander squid with bottom trawls.

    Now, no more than 20 thousand tons per year are mined, although the reserves in our seas are such that it is possible to extract up to 100 thousand tons per year without prejudice to the population. And with such reserves, Russia imports squid from China, Chile, Peru and other countries!

    In addition to the Commander squid, the more valuable Pacific squid can be hunted in our seas. When the water temperature in the Sea of ​​Japan drops, the Pacific squid begins feeding migration towards our southern Primorsky coast, approaches the Amur and Ussuri bays in huge schools. Itself swims into the hands, just catch it.

    But our fishermen do not want to bother with Pacific squid, they are more interested in catching valuable export types of seafood, such as crabs, shrimps, scallops, sea urchins, etc.

    On the other hand, how will they catch this squid? It feeds and migrates in the surface layers of the water, and not at the bottom, like the commander. You can't take it with a bottom trawl, but we have a jigger schooner once or twice.

    But our neighbors do not yawn - they take quotas and fish in our waters as much as the schooners fit. They have everything for fishing: schooners, jiggers, powerful lamps to attract squid, tanks for cooling and storage, and most importantly - the desire and support of the state.

    In the photo - a schooner for catching squid. The glass bulbs in the middle are powerful lighting bulbs. Along the sides - jig installations. They consist of an electric motor for driving a diamond-shaped drum, from which a synthetic fishing line with brightly colored baubles - jiggers, at the ends of which there are two rows of sharp beardless hooks - is reeled up and onto which, when the catch is lifted. A sinker at the end of the line.

    Round spools are line guides. They are installed on brackets above the sides in a working position.

    Pacific squid is caught at night. The echo sounder is used to locate the school.

    The line with jigger blons is uneven, twitching (dancing - jig), because. the drum is rhombic, sinks into the depth.

    Squids rush onto the flickering jiggers lit by lamps, get caught on the hook, then the fishing line is wound on the drum, passing the guide reel, the squids are unhooked from the hook and fall into the chute under the drum, through which running water is washed into a special tank.

    The whole process is automated, the fishermen only control the process, they are engaged in sorting, placing in containers for cooling in the hold.

    This is how they produce commercial squid fishing... It is also caught with bottom trawls, twin trawls (this is when a trawl is between two vessels), as well as gill nets.

    Squids are caught on purpose and sometimes fish is a by-product in a trawl or net.

  • Of course, squid fishing is a commercial one, some fishing companies specialize precisely in the extraction of this cephalopod mollusk. It is caught mainly in the southern seas of Asian countries, such as China, Japan, Vietnam, the Philippines, as well as near Peru, the Falkland Islands and on the shelf of Patagonia. Our fishery is quite widespread in the Sea of ​​Okhotsk.

    Overfishing, as such, does not threaten this species of marine life in principle. The fact is that these mollusks very quickly reach sexual maturity and immediately begin to reproduce. And they live only one or two years. So the number of caught squid is replenished almost immediately by young growth.

Add a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

68+ = 75

Кальмаров ловят специально или это побочный продукт рыболовства?

Кальмаров ловят специально или это побочный продукт рыболовства?

  • Кальмаров ловят специально или это побочный продукт рыболовства?

    Кальмары - это моллюски. В приготовленном виде представляют собой отличный диетический продукт -

    это богатый фосфором, витаминами и аминокислотами белок.

    Кальмары используются в кулинарии на протяжении многих веков. В нем вс съедобно, кроме глаз и клюва, даже чернила используют для приготовления приправ. Особой популярностью кальмары пользуются у жителей Италии, Японии и Кореи.

    В России кальмары стали популярны ещ в советские времена. Тогда наша страна была мировым лидером по добыче и переработке кальмаров. Я помню в то время мясо не всегда можно было купить, а рыба и кальмары всегда были на прилавках магазинов и рынков как в замороженном виде, так и в виде консервов.

    Например, в 1985 г. наши рыбаки в промысловом районе около Курильских островов и в западной части Берингова моря донными тралами выловили около 60 тыс. тонн командорского кальмара.

    Сейчас добывают не более 20 тыс. тонн в год, хотя запасы в наших морях такие, что можно без ущерба для популяции добывать до 100 тыс. тонн в год. И при таких запасах Россия импортирует кальмара из Китая, Чили, Перу и др. стран !

    Кроме командорского кальмара в наших морях можно добывать более ценного тихоокеанского кальмара. Когда температура воды в Японском море понижается, тихоокеанский кальмар начинает нагульную миграцию в сторону нашего южного Приморского побережья, подходит к Амурскому и Уссурийскому заливам огромными косяками. Сам плывт в руки, только вылавливай.

    Но не хотят наши рыбаки заморачиваться тихоокеанскими кальмарами, они больше заинтересованы в лове ценных экспортных видов морепродуктов, таких как крабы, креветки, морские гребешки, морские ежи и др.

    С другой стороны, а чем они будут ловить этого кальмара ? Он кормится и мигрирует в поверхностных слоях воды, а не у дна, как командорский. Донным тралом его не возьмшь, а джиггерных шхун у нас раз - два и обчлся.

    Зато наши соседи не зевают - берут квоты и ловят в наших водах столько, сколько на шхуны вмещается. У них для лова вс есть: шхуны, джиггерные установки, мощные лампы для привлечения кальмара, емкости для охлаждения и хранения, а самое главное - желание и поддержка государства.

    На фото - шхуна для ловли кальмаров. Стеклянные колбы посередине - это мощные осветительные лампы. Вдоль бортов - джиггерные установки. Состоят из электродвигателя для привода ромбовидного барабана, с которого сматывается и на который наматывается при подъеме улова синтетическая леска с закрепленными на ней ярко окрашенными блеснами - джиггерами, на концах которых имеется два ряда острых безбородочных крючков. На конце лески грузило.

    Круглые катушки - это направляющие для лески. Они устанавливаются на кронштейнах над бортами в рабочем положении.

    Тихоокеанского кальмара ловят ночью. С помощью эхолота определяют местонахождение косяка.

    Леска с блснами-джиггерами неравномерно, дергаясь (танцуя - джига),т.к. барабан ромбический, опускается в глубину.

    Кальмары бросаются на освещенные лампами мерцающие блсны-джиггеры, попадаются на крючок, потом леска наматывается на барабан, пройдя направляющую катушку, кальмары отцепляются с крючка и падают в желоб под барабаном, по которому проточной водой смываются в специальный бак.

    Весь процесс автоматизирован, рыбаки только контролируют процесс, занимаются сортировкой, укладкой в емкости для охлаждения в трюме.

    Вот так производят промысловый лов кальмаров. Вылавливают его также донными тралами, близнецовыми тралами (это когда трал между двух судов), а также жаберными сетями.

    Кальмаров ловят специально и иногда рыба бывает побочным продуктом в трале или сети.

  • Конечно же лов кальмаров является промысловым, некоторые рыболовные компании специализируются именно на добыче этого головоногого моллюска. Вылавливается он в основном в южных морях азиатских стран, таких как Китай, Япония, Вьетнам, Филиппины, а так же возле Перу, Фолклендских островов и на шельфе Патагонии. У нас промысел довольно широко развит в Охотском море.

    Перелов, как таковой, этому виду морских обитателей в принципе не грозит. Дело в том, что эти моллюски очень быстро достигают половозрелого возраста и сразу же приступают к размножению. А живут они всего лишь один-два года. Так что количество отловленных кальмаров практически сразу же пополняется молодняком.

Поделись с друзьями
Email this to someone
email
Share on Facebook
Facebook
Pin on Pinterest
Pinterest
Tweet about this on Twitter
Twitter
Share on LinkedIn
Linkedin
Share on VK
VK

Добавить комментарий

Ваш адрес email не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *

24 − = 18