Alexander Karelin: biography, sporting achievements. Greco-Roman wrestling

As you know, there have been very strong fighters in Russia since ancient times. The school of Greco-Roman wrestling began to develop especially dynamically during the Soviet period, which paid special attention to sports and physical education. One of such people who can be safely ranked among the "golden" generation of Russian sports is Alexander Karelin. The biography of this athlete will be discussed in detail in this article.

Birth and start of sports

The outstanding world-class wrestler was born on September 19, 1967 in the city of Novosibirsk. Alexander became interested in Greco-Roman wrestling at the age of fourteen. Its first section was the Petrel. After three years of training, he was able to fulfill the standard of the USSR master of sports, and a year later he became an international master of sports.

Education and research

In 1985, Alexander Karelin, whose biography is a worthy example for the younger generation, graduated from a motor transport technical school in his hometown and decided to become a cadet of the Novosibirsk Higher Military Command School of the Internal Troops of the USSR Ministry of Internal Affairs. In the same year, the recruit was sent to serve in the sports company of the Siberian Military District. Also, the future Olympic champion graduated from the St. Petersburg University of the Ministry of Internal Affairs of Russia.

Alexander Karelin biography

Karelin made his contribution to sports not only with the medals he won, but also with his Ph.D. thesis, the theme of which was: "The technique of conducting counter-moves from throws by deflection." Her defense took place at the Lesgaft Academy. This scientific work to this day is an excellent practical guide for many Russian wrestlers.

In 2002, Karelin defended his doctoral dissertation on the topic "Systems of Integral Training of Highly Qualified Wrestlers". This unique study is based on analytical work that has been extended with more than 400 athletes. In the course of it, tactics, psychology and characteristics of wrestlers were studied. Based on the results of this scientific work, Alexander concluded: an athlete who is not able to control himself, demonstrating a lack of emotional stability, shows unsatisfactory results in competitions. Some modern experts in the world of sports believe that Karelin's dissertation can help to derive the "formula" of an ideal fighter.

So our Russian hero is strong not only physically, but also very smart. In a word, San Sanych is an intellectual who adequately defends the colors of the flag of his homeland.

Alexander A. Karelin

First sporting success

Alexander Karelin (his biography is respected even by opponents) can call his first sporting achievement a victory at the World Youth Championship in 1985. This achievement was made possible thanks to his perseverance, diligence and dedication. In many ways, this is also the merit of his coach, Viktor Kuznetsov, who, by the way, remained his only mentor for his entire sports life.

The next year, Karelin wins such competitions as:

  • Championship of the Soviet Union among juniors.
  • Summer Spartakiad of the peoples of the RSFSR.
  • International tournament dedicated to the memory of Ivan Poddubny.
  • Spartakiad of the USSR.
  • European Junior Championship.
  • Championship of the RSFSR.

alexander karelin fight

Successes in 1987 year

At the age of 20, Alexander was able to take first place in the European championship, win the World Cup, become the best in the RSFSR championship. At the USSR championship, he took second place, losing to the leader of the country's wrestlers Igor Rostorotsky (the score was 0: 1).

The best in the USSR

For the first time, Alexander Karelin became the champion of the Union (the biography of the wrestler is now available to everyone) in 1988. And this despite the fact that at the time of the tournament the wrestler had a concussion and had a fever. It was then that he defeated the recognized leader of the national team Igor Rostorotsky for the first time. However, the team's coaches were not impressed with the result and in the summer they conducted another test - an extraordinary training camp, which was won by Karelin. In the same year, the young athlete won the grand prix in Germany and the grand prix among amateurs in Budapest.

First Olympiad

In 1988, Alexander Alexandrovich Karelin went to the Olympic tournament for the first time. At that time, his weight was 112 kilograms. In the final match, the Russian met with the representative of Bulgaria, Rangel Gerovski. In the first period, our hero lost with a score of 2: 3, but fifteen seconds before the end of the fight, he was able to carry out his favorite "reverse belt" technique and win his first Olympic gold.

alexander karelin family

Barcelona Olympics

In 1992, Karelin Alexander Alexandrovich again went to the Olympic championship. And in exactly the same way, the fate of the gold medal was decided in a matter of moments. True, this time it happened at the beginning of the main fight. In the final, San Sanych met with the legendary Swedish athlete Thomas Johansson. The Scandinavian wrestler could not hold out for two minutes. Thus, Karelin became a two-time Olympic champion.

1993 World Championship of the Year

Looking ahead, we note that the tournament was won by Alexander Karelin. The fight with the first opponent should be described separately.

In the first round of the competition, the Russian met with US citizen Matt Gaffari. According to Karelin himself, after winning the first point, he tried to turn his opponent over and injured two ribs. Moreover, the lower one literally came off, and the second, located nearby, broke. These two small bones pressed on the liver during the struggle, and therefore Alexander all the time felt a sharp taste of bile. However, in the end he was able to win with a score of 3: 0. But the hardest test was ahead ...

20 minutes after the meeting with the American, the Russian wrestler took to the carpet against the already known to us Thomas Johansson. At first, the Swede was able to win one point due to the fact that Karelin did not have time to straighten up during the opponent's attack. But after that Alexander successfully completed his favorite “reverse belt” three times and won with a score of 12: 1.

Alexander Karelin, the champion of many competitions, spent the next fights in the tournament more calmly and confidently and in the final he was able to win cleanly against the Moldovan Sergey Mureiko.

The injury took a long time to heal. For two and a half months, Alexander could not only fight, but even run. Moreover, breathing in a calm state was also difficult.

Alexander Karelin Maeda

Continuing a career as a wrestler

The following years were also successful for Karelin. He became world champion in 1994 and 1995, helped to defeat the Russian national team in a match against the world team. In the fall of 1995, he won a tournament of his own name, held in Novosibirsk. Matt Gaffari, already known to us, opposed him in the final. But it is especially worth telling about the 1996 European Championship.

In the course of this tournament, Karelin had a serious problem: he had an avulsion of the pectoralis major muscle, which led to a hematoma weighing one and a half kilograms. This resulted in the athlete being unable to act with his right hand. In such a situation, in fact, the Russian had nothing to hope for, but he did the impossible - he won the competition! After the finale, he underwent an operation that lasted two hours.

Alexander himself later said that Hungarian doctors gave him disappointing predictions about his recovery. But the doctor of the Russian national team, Valery Sergeevich Okhapkin, helped Karelin recover as quickly as possible. Already in 1996, he again became (for the third time) an Olympic champion, which was already surprising in itself, given the severity of this sport.

Alexander Karelin champion

Last Olympiad

The dramatic finale of the Sydney Olympics shocked many wrestlers. Alexander Karelin (his height is 191 cm) in the fight for the first place lost to Roll Gardner. The first period of the fight ended with a score of 0: 0. According to the rules in force at that time, the athletes were put in a cross grip. The referee, however, considered that the Russian was the first to unclench his hands, and awarded one point to the American, which gave him the opportunity to defeat the famous Russian. As a result, Karelin lost for the first time in 13 years of his career and won a silver medal. His defeat was a disappointment for many fans, but the national team eventually took the first team place.

According to Alexander himself, the defeat was due to emotional emptiness. He did not feel like making excuses, believing that such behavior would only humiliate him. In any case, three gold and one silver Olympic medals for a sports career is a result that is unattainable for anyone else from the current wrestlers in the world.

Fight with the Japanese

In 1999, the Russian was offered to hold a duel according to the rules of the then emerging mixed martial arts. The opposition "Alexander Karelin - Maeda" was seen by millions of viewers around the world. By the way, the prize fund was just a colossal amount at that time: one million US dollars. But since Karelin did not have the right to compete for money in accordance with the Olympic Charter, the fight went off without reward.

Alexander Karelin's fight with the Japanese

February 20, 1999. Fight of Alexander Karelin with the Japanese. According to the previously agreed-upon rules, the Russian wrestler had no right to strike and had to use exclusively wrestling techniques. For some time, the representative of the Land of the Rising Sun actively used kicks and kept the Russian at a distance, but ultimately Karelin was still able to hold his signature "reverse belt" and win the fight. After the fight, the seconds helped the Japanese to leave the ring, since he himself was not able to walk. And this despite the fact that not a single blow was inflicted on him!

Life today

Nowadays, Alexander Karelin, for whom the family plays a leading role in life, continues to actively work for the benefit of society. He lives alternately in Moscow, then in Novosibirsk. In 1998 he was recognized as an honorary citizen of his hometown. He has a wife, two sons and a daughter, Vasilisa.

The son of Alexander Karelin, Ivan, is also involved in wrestling and in 2014 finished fifth in the Russian championship. Vasilisa is actively involved in rhythmic gymnastics.

Since 1995 San Sanych has the rank of colonel of the tax police. Elected four times to the State Duma of Russia. He was a member of the Health and Sports Committee. Has the award of the Hero of Russia, the Order of Friendship of Peoples, Honor, "For services to the Fatherland." In 2013 he was awarded a certificate of honor of the President of the Russian Federation.

By the way, Karelin is one of the twenty-five best athletes around the world in the twentieth century. He is on a par with such legendary personalities as Pele, Muhammad Ali, Larisa Latynina.

Add a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

2 + 3 =

Александр Карелин: биография, спортивные достижения. Греко-римская борьба

Как известно, в России еще с давних времен были очень сильные борцы. Особенно динамично начала развиваться школа греко-римской борьбы в период советской власти, уделявшей спорту и физкультуре особое внимание. Одним из таких людей, которых можно смело причислить к «золотому» поколению российского спорта, является Александр Карелин. Биография этого спортсмен будет детальным образом рассмотрена в данной статье.

Рождение и начало занятий спортом

Выдающийся борец мирового уровня родился 19 сентября 1967 года в городе Новосибирске. Александр увлекся греко-римской борьбой в четырнадцатилетнем возрасте. Его первой секцией был «Буревестник». Уже через три года занятий он смог выполнить норматив мастера спорта СССР, а еще через год он стал мастером спорта международного класса.

Образование и научные работы

В 1985 году Александр Карелин, биография которого – достойный пример для подрастающего поколения, закончил в своем родном городе автотранспортный техникум и принял решение стать курсантом Новосибирского высшего военного командного училища Внутренних Войск МВД СССР. В том же году новобранец был отправлен на службу в спортивную роту Сибирского военного округа. Также будущий олимпийский чемпион окончил Санкт-Петербургский университет МВД России.

александр карелин биография

Свой вклад в спорт Карелин внес не только добытыми медалями, но и написанной кандидатской диссертацией, тема которой звучала так: «Методика проведения контрприемов от бросков прогибом». Защита ее прошла в академии имени Лесгафта. Данная научная работа и по сей день является прекрасным практическим пособием для многих российских борцов.

В 2002 году Карелин защитил докторскую диссертацию на тему «Системы интегральной подготовки высококвалифицированных борцов». Названное уникальное исследование содержит в своей основе аналитическую работу, которая была продлена с более чем 400 спортсменами. В ходе ее были изучены тактика, психология и особенности борцов. По итогам данного научного труда Александр сделал вывод: спортсмен, не способный контролировать себя, демонстрирующий отсутствие эмоциональной устойчивости, показывает неудовлетворительные результаты на соревнованиях. Некоторые современные эксперты мира спорта считают, что диссертация Карелина способна помочь вывести «формулу» идеального бойца.

Так что наш богатырь русский силён не только физически, но еще и очень умен. Словом, Сан Саныч – интеллектуал, достойно защищающий цвета флага родины.

карелин александр александрович

Первый спортивный успех

Александр Карелин (биография его вызывает уважение даже у оппонентов) своим первым спортивным достижением может назвать победу на чемпионате мира среди молодежи в 1985 году. Такое достижение стало возможным благодаря его упорству, усердию и целеустремлённости. Во многом также это заслуга и его тренера, Виктора Кузнецова, который, кстати, так и остался его единственным наставником на всю спортивную жизнь.

Уже на следующий год Карелин выигрывает такие состязания, как:

  • Чемпионат Советского союза среди юниоров.
  • Летнюю Спартакиаду народов РСФСР.
  • Международный турнир, посвященный памяти Ивана Поддубного.
  • Спартакиаду СССР.
  • Юниорский чемпионат Европы.
  • Первенство РСФСР.

александр карелин бой

Успехи в 1987 году

В возрасте 20 лет Александр смог занять первое место на первенстве Европы, завоевать Кубок мира, стать лучшим на чемпионате РСФСР. На первенстве же СССР он занял второе место, проиграв лидеру борцов страны Игорю Ростороцкому (счёт схватки 0:1).

Лучший в СССР

Впервые стать чемпионом Союза Александр Карелин (биография борца сегодня доступна для всех желающих) смог в 1988 году. И это при том, что на момент проведения турнира борец имел сотрясение головного мозга, и у него была повышена температура. Именно тогда он первый раз одолел признанного лидера сборной Игоря Ростороцкого. Однако тренеры команды не был впечатлены результатом и летом провели еще одну проверку – внеочередной сбор, который выиграл именно Карелин. В тот же год молодой спортсмен завоевал гран-при в Германии и гран-при среди любителей, прошедший в Будапеште.

Первая олимпиада

В 1988 году Карелин Александр Александрович впервые поехал на олимпийский турнир. На тот момент его вес составлял 112 килограмм. В финальном поединке россиянин встречался с представителем Болгарии Рангелом Геровски. В первом периоде наш герой проигрывал со счетом 2:3, но за пятнадцать секунд до конца поединка он смог провести свой любимый прием «обратный пояс» и завоевать свое первое олимпийское золото.

александр карелин семья

Олимпиада в Барселоне

В 1992 году Карелин Александр Александрович вновь поехал на олимпийское первенство. И точно так же судьба золотой медали решилась за считаные мгновенья. Правда, в этот раз произошло это в начале главного поединка. В финале Сан Саныч встречался с легендарным шведским спортсменом Томасом Юханссоном. Скандинавский борец не смог продержаться и двух минут. Таким образом, Карелин стал двукратным чемпионом Олимпийских игр.

Чемпионат мира 1993 года

Забегая вперед, отметим, что турнир выиграл Александр Карелин. Бой с первым соперником стоит описать отдельно.

В первом круге соревнований россиянин встретился с гражданином США Мэттом Гаффари. По словам самого Карелина, уже после выигрыша первого балла он пытался перевернуть своего оппонента и травмировал два ребра. Причем нижнее в прямом смысле оторвалось, а второе, расположенное рядом, сломалось. Эти две маленькие кости в процессе борьбы давили на печень, и потому Александр все время ощущал острый привкус желчи. Однако в итоге смог победить со счетом 3:0. Но самое тяжелое испытание было впереди…

Через 20 минут после встречи с американцем российский борец вышел на ковер против уже известного нам Томаса Юханссона. Вначале швед смог выиграть один балл по причине того, что Карелин не успел выпрямиться во время атаки оппонента. Но после Александр три раза успешно выполнил свой любимый «обратный пояс» и победил со счетом 12:1.

Следующие поединки на турнире Александр Карелин, чемпион многих соревнований, провел более спокойно и уверенно и в финале смог чисто выиграть у молдаванина Сергея Мурейко.

Травма залечивалась долго. Два с половиной месяца Александр не мог не то что бороться, а даже бегать. Причем дыхание в спокойном состоянии также давалось с трудом.

александр карелин маеда

Продолжение карьеры борца

Следующие годы для Карелина также были успешными. Он стал чемпионом мира 1994 и 1995 годов, помог победить сборной России в матчевой встрече против сборной мира. Осенью 1995 года он выиграл турнир своего имени, прошедший в Новосибирске. Противостоял ему в финале уже известный нам Мэтт Гаффари. Но особо стоит рассказать о первенстве Европы 1996 года.

По ходу этого турнира у Карелина возникла серьёзнейшая проблема: у него произошёл отрыв большой грудной мышцы, который привел к возникновению гематомы весом в полтора килограмма. Это привело к тому, что спортсмен не смог действовать правой рукой. В такой ситуации, по сути, россиянину уже не на что было надеяться, но он совершил невозможное – выиграл соревнования! После финала ему была сделана операция, которая продлилась два часа.

Сам Александр чуть позже сказал, что венгерские медики давали ему неутешительные прогнозы по поводу его восстановления. Но врач сборной России, Валерий Сергеевич Охапкин, помог восстановиться Карелину максимально быстро. Уже в 1996 году он вновь стал (уже в третий раз) олимпийским чемпионом, что уже было удивительно само по себе, учитывая тяжесть данного вида спорта.

александр карелин чемпион

Последняя олимпиада

Драматический финал Сиднейской олимпиады поверг многих любителей борьбы в шок. Александр Карелин (рост его составляет 191 см) в схватке за первое место проиграл Рулону Гарднеру. Первый период поединка закончился со счетом 0:0. По действующим на тот момент правилам атлеты были поставлены в крестовый захват. Рефери же посчитал, что россиянин первым разжал руки, и присудил один балл американцу, который и дал ему возможность победить прославленного россиянина. В результате Карелин впервые за 13 лет своей карьеры проиграл и стал обладателем серебряной медали. Его поражение стало для многих фанатов разочарованием, но сборная в итоге заняла первое общекомандное место.

По утверждению самого Александра, поражение произошло по причине эмоциональной опустошенности. Он не испытывал желания оправдываться, считая, что такое поведение лишь унизило бы его. В любом случае три золотых и одна серебряная олимпийские медали за спортивную карьеру – результат, который недосягаем пока что ни для кого более из ныне действующих борцов мира.

Бой с японцем

В 1999 году россиянину предложили провести поединок по правилам еще только тогда зарождающихся смешанных единоборств. Противостояние "Александр Карелин – Маеда" увидели миллионы зрителей по всему миру. Кстати, призовой фонд был равен просто колоссальной по тем временам сумме: один миллион долларов США. Но поскольку Карелин не имел права выступать за деньги в соответствии с Олимпийской хартией, то схватка прошла без вознаграждения.

бой александра карелина с японцем

20 февраля 1999 года. Бой Александра Карелина с японцем. По заранее оговоренным правилам, русский борец не имел права наносить удары и должен был использовать исключительно борцовские приемы. Некоторое время представитель Страны восходящего солнца активно применял удары ногами и держал россиянина на дистанции, но в конечном счете Карелин все-таки смог провести свой коронный «обратный пояс» и выиграть схватку. После боя японцу секунданты помогали уйти с ринга, так как сам он идти не был способен. И это при том, что по нему не было нанесено ни одного удара!

Жизнь сегодня

В наши дни Александр Карелин, семья для которого играет главенствующую роль в жизни, продолжает активно работать на благо общества. Живет он попеременно то в Москве, то в Новосибирске. В 1998 году был признан почетным гражданином своего родного города. У него есть жена, два сына и дочка Василиса.

Сын Александра Карелина, Иван, также занимается борьбой и в 2014 году занял пятое место на первенстве России. Василиса активно занимается художественной гимнастикой.

C 1995 года Сан Саныч имеет звание полковника налоговой полиции. Четыре раза избирался в Государственную думу России. Являлся членом комитета по охране здоровья и спорту. Имеет награду Героя России, ордена Дружбы народов, Почета, «За заслуги перед Отечеством». В 2013 году был награжден почетной грамотой президента РФ.

Кстати, Карелин входит в число двадцати пяти лучших атлетов всего мира в ХХ веке. Он стоит в одном ряду с такими легендарными личностями как Пеле, Мухаммед Али, Лариса Латынина.

Поделись с друзьями
Email this to someone
email
Share on Facebook
Facebook
Pin on Pinterest
Pinterest
Tweet about this on Twitter
Twitter
Share on LinkedIn
Linkedin
Share on VK
VK

Добавить комментарий

Ваш e-mail не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *

6 + 1 =